Introduction

YouTube has been getting more advanced by the day; even the privacy settings are updated constantly to ensure the security of your videos and channel. The professional content creators are taking full advantage of the platform with all its features as they grow more and more every day. However, new creators are usually unaware of many of the features they can benefit from and privacy settings are one of them. If you’re wondering what is unlisted on YouTube, keep reading our article to find out.

What is Unlisted on YouTube?

YouTube offers its users a high quality security system for securing the content’s privacy. There are three options to choose from:

What is Unlisted on YouTube
What is Unlisted on YouTube? 5
  • Public:Signifies that the content will be visible to everyone. Anyone can watch, save, comment and like it.
  • Private: This content will not be visible to anyone except you. Even your subscribers will not be able to interact with it. Of course, it also won’t be visible on your channel or in your subscribers’ feeds.
  • Unlisted: Only people that have the link can interact with the content by liking and commenting on it. The video can also be added to the channel’s list. If the link is re-shared or if the video is added to a public playlist, then it will be visible to other people as well. However, it will not show up in the search results, subscribers’ feeds, your channel’s posts or recommendations.

How Can You Set a Video to Unlisted?

The simplest answer to “What is unlisted on YouTube?” is that it’s content that you want to share with a limited audience via a private link. You can set your video to unlisted through its privacy settings. Simply follow these steps:

  • Sign in to YouTube Studio
  • From the left corner menu, choose Content
From the left corner menu, choose Content
What is Unlisted on YouTube? 6
  • Bring the cursor to the video you want to set as unlisted. If the video was a Live Upload, you can find it in the Live section
  • A down arrow will appear on the video’s Visibility option
A down arrow will appear on the video’s Visibility option
What is Unlisted on YouTube? 7
  • Click the arrow and choose Unlisted
Click the arrow and choose Unlisted
What is Unlisted on YouTube? 8

How Can You Set a Playlist to Unlisted?

What is unlisted on YouTube when it comes to playlists? Unlisted playlists are visible and shareable only for the people you share the link with. The playlist you set as Unlisted should not have videos that are set to Public. The list won’t be discovered but the videos can appear in search results.

You can choose which playlists you want to privately share with a few people. Unlike videos, you can change the privacy settings of your playlists via YouTube as well.

Privacy Settings via YouTube:

  • Go to your Library
  • Select the playlist you want to set as Unlisted
  • Below the title, click on the drop down arrow
  • Choose Unlisted from the options and click Save

Privacy Settings via YouTube Studio:

  • Sign in to your YouTube Studio
  • Select Playlists from the menu on the left corner
  • Click the edit icon next to the playlist you want to set as Unlisted
  • Below the title, click on the drop down arrow of privacy
  • Choose Unlisted from the options and click Save

You can share unlisted content from your channel simply by going to the menu icon and clicking the Get Shareable Link. You can use that link to invite people to view your content.

YouTube Privacy Update

In the month of July, YouTube is bringing an update to its security settings for unlisted content on YouTube.If your videos are unlisted, you should carefully read their conditions and take the necessary measures or they will automatically be set to Private for security reasons.

Recommended