RT or Retweet, simply put, is the “re-posting” of someone’s tweet to your feed. This feature on Twitter helps you share tweets and posts from other people to your page for your followers to see. You can also make a retweet from your post or someone else’s.

what does rt mean on Twitter
What is RT? Find out what does rt mean on Twitter 3

Many Twitter users also type the letter “RT” at the beginning o their tweet to indicate that they are re-posting a tweet from someone else to their timeline. It is typically used when a user wants to quote someone else’s tweet on their account.

In this article, you will learn what does rt mean on Twitter.

image 387 What is RT? Find out what does rt mean on Twitter
What is RT? Find out what does rt mean on Twitter 4

What it looks like:

Retweets look like any other tweet you post on your feed. The only difference is that the post will now contain a retweet icon next to it. The account username of the original author of the tweet will also appear on the post.

If you think that you see content from people you do not personally follow on Twitter, it may be a retweet of that person’s post from one of your followers. In this way, you can see how retweets are great at promoting and advertising the content of a page even when you don’t personally follow that page.

This is an excellent tool for online businesses and establishments. It works as free promotion for their content, brand, and products. Sometimes social influencers can charge a certain amount for your company’s post to be retweeted by them. If the influencer has thousands of followers, all of them will see your post even if they do not follow your business page personally. 

Where you will find them:

Posts that others have retweeted:

You can go through your Home timeline to see tweets that have been retweeted by the people you follow. If you have blocked an account, you will not be able to see their retweets either.

Posts that were retweeted by other accounts:

  • Open the Twitter application on your mobile device.
  • Log into your Twitter account.
  • Look for the notifications tab on the screen.
  • This tab will show you all the tweets you have posted from your account. This includes retweets as well; it also shows the username of the person who has retweeted your post.
  • Go to the tweet detail page. This will show you how many retweets and quote retweets you have from your account.
  • To check the profiles of all those users who have retweeted you, you can go to the tab that says “retweets.”
  • Likewise, if you want to view the list of people who have quoted tweeted you, you can click on the tab that says “Quote Tweets.”

Turning off retweets:

Retweets can be turned off and disabled for accounts that you don’t want retweeting your content. To turn off the retweet mode on your Twitter, follow these steps:

  • Open the Twitter application on your mobile device.
  • Log into your Twitter account.
  • Click on settings and go to “turn off retweets.”
  • This tab will show you all the tweets you have posted from your account. This includes retweets as well; it also shows the username of the person who has retweeted your post.

Deleting a retweet:

Undoing a retweet is fast and straightforward. You have to click on the icon in the post that says “tweet.” The original tweet will not be removed by the Retweet you made will be removed from the garden. 

You can retweet a post as much as you want. This is why many people are tapping into the world of online games and using Twitter as a social media platform that also advertises and promotes campaigns for companies and brands.

If you want to earn more followers on Twitter, follow this link.

Recommended