How to Delete Your Twitter Account | VyprVPN

Twitter is one of the fastest social networks for setting a piece of information on fire. Among users, it is also known for being almost a ‘diary,’ as many use the platform to vent, tell daily situations and share opinions. But, what to do when the famous stalkers start interacting negatively, or curious people start probing your posts? Do you think you should proceed to delete your Twitter account? Well, think again! After all, it takes numerous days and great efforts to take your Twitter account to whatever milestone you are on currently.

If you face any issues from or like the above-mentioned ones, there’s another option to get rid of it rather than deleting your account. Well, to avoid the snoopers and have more freedom in your social network, you can opt to leave your profile in private mode.

The situation happens a lot with public figures, who usually can’t deprive the network account. All platforms like Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, etc., have an option to keep your profile or specific posts private.

In addition, even Twitter warns that if you are experiencing a problem with your accounts such as missing tweets, incorrect follower counts or people you follow, suspicious Direct Messages (DMs), or a possible account compromise (Twitter hacked), none of this will be solved by deactivating and reactivating the account. Thus, the only option left is to delete the Twitter account.

The process is simple and quick and can be done both from the mobile app and from your computer. This post covers the ways implementing which; you could restrict access to your tweets. By doing this, you will secure your account from undesired users and make your tweets available only for users within your network. Let’s start!

Understand what it means to deactivate or delete a Twitter account

Delete / Deactivate Twitter Account on Android, iOS & Web

Deletion is a gradual process. First, you need to deactivate your account and not log into it for 30 days. After this period, Twitter will start deleting your data and tweets, which can take another week.

If you access your account within this period, it will be reactivated. However, if you think of it as remorse, it’s fine. Otherwise, you will have to follow the steps below again if you really want to delete your account;

Your username is frozen for these 30 days and cannot be used for any other account. If you want to make your username available to someone else, please change it before deactivating the account;

How do I disable my Twitter profile on my cell phone?

  1. Open the app, tap the three small bars in the upper left corner of the display and select “Settings & Privacy”;
  2. Click on “Privacy & Security” and activate the “Protect your Tweets” switch;
  3. That’s it! Twitter protected. You can also configure whether you would like “anyone” to be able to send you a message (DM) through the social network or not.
  4. Similarly, you can also block or mute accounts and words – the latter being interesting even if you want to avoid taking spoilers of some series or movie momentarily.

If you wish to endure through the browser, the process is almost the same: access your account with login and password > tap “More” in the side menu > then “Settings and privacy > Your Account > Account information > and “Protected Tweets.” Next, simply activate the protection and then confirm the action by tapping “Protect.”

How to deactivate Twitter?

With this in mind, let’s start the process to delete Twitter account:

  • Log in to twitter.com on your computer or access the mobile app;
  • At the upper right corner, click on your photo;
  • Then click on Settings and Privacy;
  • Scroll to the bottom and click Deactivate my account;
  • Read the information carefully and click OK, fine, deactivate account;
  • Enter your password to confirm the process;
  • That’s it! Your account has been deactivated.

How to delete a Twitter account permanently?

As we explained above, your Twitter account is automatically deleted 30 days after you deactivate it. There is no way to delete the account directly. It is important that you do not log into the account again from your computer or cell phone during this period. Otherwise, it will be reactivated after login. This also means that you can only have your account deactivated for up to 30 days, no longer than that.

To wit…

You do not have to deactivate your account to change your username or email address. You can change them whenever you want in the settings.

To use a username or email address on another account, you must first change it to any other username or email address on the account you want to delete and confirm the change before deactivation. Only then will you release that name to a new Twitter account, also yours (or not). Your email and username will be available for use on a new account if you sign up again during the 30-day deactivation period.

However, your tweets or profile might still be available on search engines for a prolonged period. Twitter says it has no control over the content indexed by search engines such as Google or Bing.

Consider rethinking before you delete your Twitter account

Well, social media nowadays has become a tuff fight, especially when it comes to rising as an influencer. Besides, a decent amount of time and effort work as the pillar to success. Now, if there are situations, such as hate speeches, negative comments, compromised profile, or even any unfortunate word vomit, should you really opt to delete your Twitter account?

Don’t you think killing your Twitter self would be more like dumping your own hard work behind the growth? Of course, it is! Rather, consider deleting those old tweets which bothered you the most. In fact, there are many tools available that could help you delete multiple tweets at once. For example, TweetDelete is an application that helps you delete all tweets before a certain date.

Indeed, deleting old tweets unshackle from the damage, but at least you can save yourself from running those miles again in building a highly engaging Twitter account. However, if you still wish to delete your Twitter account, follow the steps mentioned above.

In case you change your mind, we can help you grow your Twitter followers. Want to know how? Get in touch with us right away!

Recommended