If you up to date with Instagram and its features, you would know that users can now restrict others. But in case you aren’t, then you’re in for a ride.

Basically, users can limit access to other accounts with regard to their profiles. That includes messages, activity status, and comments, among many other things. So here are the methods on how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram.

how to know if someone restricted you on instagram

How To Know If Someone Restricted You On Instagram

By restricting a user, the aim is to place a limit on the interactions one can have with others. It’s great for the purpose of avoiding users who you can’t really unfollow. On placing restrictions, the other party will not be able to check your activity status. They also cannot read what you send in their direct messages.

But the best part is that all such restrictions are reversible. At any point in time, you can turn back the tides if you feel the need to do so. Furthermore, you can even increase Instagram comments through our website. Therefore, here’s how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram.

Make a New Account

Since you already suspect that the other party restricted you, there’s no point checking from that account. Thus, from here onwards, you would require a new account. To make a new account, follow these steps:

Step 1: Run the Instagram app

Step 2: Head to the bottom right corner of your feed. Long press on the icon with your display picture.

Step 3: As you do that, an option will slide in from the bottom of your screen. Tap on “Try a New Account.”

steps to check out if someone restricted you

Step 4: Choose a username for yourself and then set a password.

Step 5: You can even add your phone number and email ID to make your account more secure.

Step 6: When that is over, tap “Complete Signup.”

Now, you can even connect the new account to your Facebook or add contacts. If not, tap on “Skip.” Skip through everything since the account will be only for the purpose of checking if the user restricted you.

Go Through The Comments

Step 1: From the new account, search for the user.

Remember that you’ll only be able to check from the new account if the user’s account is public. In the case of private accounts, it won’t work.

Step 2: Taking the user’s account to be public, once you find them, tap on their profile.

Step 3: Once you’re on their profile, go to the post you remember commenting on in the past.

The comment section is the icon with a dialogue box, right between the like and share buttons.

Step 4: When you’re in the comment section, look for your comments.

If that user really did restrict you, your comments from the main account will no longer be there.

Send a Direct Message

The second method to check whether a user restricted you on Instagram is checking through direct messages. 

Step 1: From your new account, search for the user in the search section. You can access it by tapping once on the icon with a magnifying glass. It’s right beside the IGTV icon.

Step 2: Once the user you’re looking for appears on your screen, tap on their profile.

Step 3: Even if their account is private, you can still send them a direct message. 

  • Once you’re on their profile, head to the top right corner. Tap on “…”
  • Tap on “Send Message.”
  • Type in any message and tap on “Send.”

In case their account is public, you can simply tap on the “Message” box.

After sending the message, wait for the reply. Even if there are chances that they might not reply at all, still it’s worth a shot. If and when you do get a reply, it’ll confirm your doubts that they indeed restricted you.

Find Out Through Activity Status

Another method is checking the activity status of the user through your new account. For that, you need to turn on your “Activity Status,” under “Privacy,” which you’ll find in the “Settings” menu.

You wouldn’t be able to check their activity through your main account if they restricted you. But if you’re able to see their status from the new account, they restricted your main account.

Recommended