It’s very natural to feel the urge of wanting to remove people from the list of your followers. The reasons could be many, or maybe you don’t really engage with that account anymore.

Fortunately, there are simple and easy methods through which you can efficiently get rid of anyone you wish to. To remove, you won’t require anyone else to take the initiative to block you or delete their accounts. Thus, to learn the skill, continue reading our article on how to remove a follower on Instagram.

Simple Steps to Remove Followers on Instagram

To remove an account means getting rid of them for good. You’re cutting off all ties and bidding your farewell to such accounts. If yours is a “Private Account,” then the accounts you removed can no longer access your content.

Neither can they access anything you post or share. But if your account in public, then everything remains the same, just that they won’t see any post notifications.

With all that in mind, the following are a few quick and easy steps on how to remove a follower on Instagram.

Step 1: Go ahead and run the Instagram application on your phone.

Step 2: Head over to the bottom right of your screen. There you’ll see your display picture. Tap on that.

Step 3: In your account profile section, tap on the “Followers.” It’ll be between “Posts” and “Following.”

how to remove a follower on instagram

Step 4: As the list of your followers pops up, you can choose to scroll through the accounts. The other choice is to simply search for the user/users on the “Search followers” bar.

remove follower on instagram

Step 5: When you finally find the account, all you need to do is tap on “Remove.”

Step 6: The interface of the app will prompt you and convey that the other party won’t know that you removed them. Once you’re sure, go on ahead and tap on “Remove” to confirm your action.

removing followers on instagram

Choose Your Method Carefully

If you have been delaying removing that annoying follower, you can do so now. But before you go on a cleaning spree, ensure to remember a few things. In case you’re not sure if you really want to remove that account, there are other ways.

These other methods are in the form of either “Block” that account or “Restrict” their access to your account. In case you are looking for methods to get more fans on Instagram, pay us a visit.

The Power of Restrict

In the case of the method to “Restrict,” it lies between the features to “Remove” and “Block.” In contrast to “Remove,” if you were to “Restrict” an account, the app will hideaway their likes and comments.

But at the same time, unlike a “Block,” they still can carry out interactions. The only difference would be that it just won’t be visible to you. Follow these simple steps to use the method.

Step 1: Just like always, go ahead and run Instagram.

Step 2: Head to your profile. And tap on the hamburger menu that looks like three lines stacked on top of each other.

Step 3: From there, head to the bottom and click on “Settings.”

Step 4: Once you’re there, go to “Privacy.”

Step 5: On the “Privacy” page, under “Connections,” you’ll see “Restricted Accounts.” Tap on it.

When that opens up, you’ll see a list of all the “Restricted Accounts.” If it’s your first time, there won’t be any accounts on this page.

Step 6: Now, all you got to do is, go to “Search” and look for the account to “Restrict.”

The Power of Block

Using this method means that you really want to get rid of that account once and for all. It’s like serving an ultimatum on that account. It’s the highest level of precautionary feature Instagram offers to its users for protecting their privacy.

If you block a person, they cannot interact with you at all. Plus, they won’t be able to even find your account on Instagram.

To block an account,

Step 1: Go to the “Search” page and look for the account you want to “Block.”

Step 2: When their profile page pops up, head over to the top right corner. Tap on the three dots vertically stacked together.

Step 3: As few options slide it from the bottom of the page, you’ll see the “Block” option. Tap on it.

Step 4: The app will give you two “Block” options. Choose accordingly and tap on “Block.”

Recommended