There are many social media platforms out there like Facebook, Snapchat, Twitter, and more. You can use them to connect with anyone from anywhere around the world instantly. Among these platforms, Instagram takes the lead. It is the top choice among youth and elders alike to share photos and videos. It offers state-of-the-art photo manipulation tools, which can take your content from boring to appealing in no time. But not everyone is comfortable to be public here you can learn how to turn your Instagram account private in these simple steps.

Since visuals make it easier and more interesting to express your feelings, Instagram is an app loved and used by many. But with all its glory, there comes an issue of privacy. Most of the social media users worry about the privacy of their content. There are a few valid reasons for that. Some may want to share it with their close circle only. Some may be worried about the misuse of their content online. Whatever the reason, Instagram has got it all covered. Although the default setting on Instagram allows you to share your photos and videos with anyone, you have the option to keep your account private. In this article, you will learn to turn your Instagram account private in these simple steps.

Set your personal account to private

Having a personal account doesn’t mean that your content is only visible to your followers. By default, the setting is set to public. So when you create a new Instagram account, you automatically share your photos and videos to the public. To change this setting you can turn the private mode on. Here is how you can change your personal account to private on your mobile or desktop.

Get a Private account on your iOS or Android device

Whether you have an Android or iOS device, you can follow these steps to go private.

  1. Locate the Instagram app on your mobile device and open your profile. Next, tap the three lines which are located in the top-right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap the “Settings” option. You can find it at the very bottom of the screen.
  3. Tap on the “Privacy” option and go to the section named Connections. Under this, you will find “Account privacy”. Tap on this option. Now, turn on the private mode. Once it turns blue, you’re done!

Now you can comfortably share your favorite moments with only the people you allow.

Get a Private account on your desktop or mobile browser

You can also turn the privacy option for your personal account using a desktop. Here’s what you’ll need to do:

  1. Go to Instagram’s website and log in to your account.
  2. Locate your profile icon and tap on it to get to your main profile page.
  3. Select the Settings icon (shaped like a gear).
  4. From the options presented, select “Privacy and Security”.
  5. At the very top, you’ll find the option of private account. You just have to check the box next to it. Voila! You have now converted your Instagram account to private from your desktop.

How to make a business account private

Instagram has two types of accounts. One is a personal account. The other is a business account. You have already learned how to turn your personal account private. But what if you have a business account? Unfortunately, Instagram doesn’t offer a private mode setting for business accounts. The photos and videos shared on a business account can be viewed by anyone. Even if they are following you, your content can pop up in searches and feeds. So in order for you to make your account private, you’ll have to switch from business to personal account. But don’t worry! You can turn your Instagram account private in these simple steps.

  1. Go to your main profile page. Tap on the Settings option.
  2. Under settings, find the “Account” option and tap on it.
  3. You will be presented with many options. At the bottom of the screen, you will find the option “switch back to personal account”. Select this option to change your account type from business to personal.
  4. Now follow the same steps as described in the personal account section above to turn on the private mode.
How to make a business account private

One downside is that you will not be able to view the insights of your posts anymore.

Other ways to stay private on Instagram

The above options allow you to hide your content from people that don’t follow you. But what if you want to hide your content from some of your followers as well? Maybe they are not that close to you. Or maybe you just don’t want them interacting on your posts. No matter the reason, you can follow these simple tips to protect your content from some of your followers too.

Limit who can see and interact on your stories

Instagram stories are shared with your followers by default. But, you have the option to choose who you want to share your stories with. Here’s how:

  1. Go to your main profile and open the Settings option.
  2. Tap on “Privacy”. From the options, select “Story”.
  3. Here you will be presented with different options for your stories.
  4. You can place specific followers on the Hide story list. These people will no longer be able to view your story and live videos.
  5. You can create a close friends list and add people you want to share your story with. Now, whenever you post a story, Instagram will give you the option to share it with your friends or your close friends. You can choose whichever you want.
  6. You can also choose who can reply to your stories. If you select your followers, then all your followers will be able to reply. While if you select the second option, then only those followers who you follow back will be able to reply. If you choose off, then no one can reply to your stories.

You can now share your stories with selected followers and keep your content safe.

Limit what others see on your profile

If you want even more privacy, you can turn off your activity status. The activity status lets people know when you’re online and using the app. By turning it off you can use Instagram without letting anyone else know. All you have to do is:

  • Tap on Settings and go to Privacy
  • Locate the “Activity status” and disable “show activity status”.

Also, keep in mind that you will not be able to view other’s activity status when your status is turned off.

You can also choose to review the content you’re tagged in before it appears on your profile. To enable this option:

  • Tap on Settings and go to Privacy. Select the “Tags” option.
  • Turn on the option to manually approve tags.

Now, you can be safe from spammers and choose which content appears on your profile.

You’re done!

If you follow the above steps, you can turn your account private on Instagram. Now, you can comfortably post photos and videos with the people you want.

Recommended