To make logging in more accessible and more convenient, Instagram remembers all your logged-out accounts. Instead of entering all your credentials again, Instagram lets you join as an old user with the “continue as” button. As long as you have logged into the account with the same device, Instagram will remember you.

This feature can both be a boon and a bane. In one case, it makes it easy for you to access all your accounts without wasting time. On the other hand, there is a risk for a security breach of your account when the device remembers all your credentials, so basically, anyone can enter your account as long as you have logged in at least once from the said device.

This article will talk about the five different ways on how to remove a remembered account on Instagram. 

Removing a remembered account on Instagram

Logged in:

removing a remembered account on Instagram.

You can use these steps to remove an Instagram remembered account after you have logged into the mobile application.

  • Log into your Instagram account.
  • Go to your profile page.
  • Tap on the menu button located at the top right corner of the screen
  • Go to the Settings option.
  • Scroll down and tap on “Log out.”
  • This will prompt a pop-up menu. Choose the option that says not to remember your login information.

Logged out:

how can you remove a remembered account on Instagram.

You can use these steps to remove an Instagram remembered account without logging into the mobile application.

  • Launch the Instagram application on your mobile device
  • This will prompt a screen with all the accounts you have used to log in on this device.
  • Click on the three vertical dots located at the end of the username of each account.
  • When the pop-up shows, tap on “remove.”
  • This action will remove the account permanently from showing up when you launch the Instagram app.

Facebook

You can use these steps to remove an Instagram remembered account linked to your Facebook account.

  • Launch the Facebook app on your phone
  • Go to the menu button at the bottom right corner of the screen.
  • Scroll down till the end of the page and tap on “Settings and Privacy.”
  • From the dropdown list, click on the last option that says “log out.”

This method will work if you have linked your Facebook and Instagram accounts together or have used Facebook to log into Instagram before.

Clearing your data

You can use these steps to remove an Instagram remembered account without logging in or out of any apps.

For Android users:

  • Open Settings on your phone
  • Go to your apps on your settings.
  • This will show you the list of applications you have on your phone.
  • Scroll through and find Instagram
  • Click on the Instagram option.
  • Tap on the “storage” button
  • From the display, choose the option that says “clear” or “clear data.”

For iOS users:

  • Open Settings on your phone
  • Go to “General”
  • Scroll down and find “iphone storage.”
  • This will show you the amount of space used and the amount of storage left on your phone.
  • Scroll down and find the Instagram app
  • Click on it. This will prompt a new screen where you will find an option to “offload” the app. This will remove all the data from your app, including your logged-in information.

Password change

You can use these steps when you want to remove an Instagram remembered account by changing your password. When you change your password, the phone you used to change your password will still have your Instagram login information, but all other devices you may have used to log into that account will be logged out.

  • Open the Instagram application and go to your Instagram profile.
  • Tap on the menu option at the top of the screen
  • Select Settings.
  • Click on Security.
  • Select the option that says “Password.”
  • In the spaces, type in your current password and your new password, respectively.
  • Click to save the changes.

Increasing followers on Instagram has never been easier. Follow this link to know more!

Recommended