It so happens that we might sometimes get bored of the platform. There might be numerous other reasons too. If you are facing such issues and looking for how to delete an account on Facebook, read on and find out how to do it. 

Facebook is the most preferred and one of the widely used social media platforms. It hosts millions of users from all over the world. People post a lot of content on their Facebook handles each day. Be it a photograph, video, or promotional content, people prefer posting it on Facebook. They are intrigued by the comments and other actions on the content they post.

How to Delete an Account on Facebook

Steps to How to Delete an Account on Facebook: 

The platform is so popular that most people post everything they do on Facebook. It is a prominent tool to let others know what happens in our lives. However, it faces the opposite side as well. Numerous people search for how to delete an account on Facebook every day. 

There are two ways of doing it. One is deactivating the account for some days, and the other is permanently deleting it. In the first case, we can temporarily close the account for some time and later activate it whenever needed. The second case is irreversible. Here is how to delete an account on Facebook: 

  • Before proceeding to delete the account, you can save all the data in it, if necessary. Facebook allows this action since it is impossible to retrieve the information once the account is deleted. 
  • Login to your profile and click on the ‘down arrow’ icon on the top right of Facebook. 
  • Go to the ‘Settings & Privacy’ and then select ‘settings.’ 
  • Here you can find a ‘Your Facebook Information’ option. Click on that and select ‘Deactivation and deletion.’ 
  • Select the ‘Delete Account’ option and then click on the ‘Continue to Account Deletion’ option. 
  • Here, Facebook would ask your account’s password to confirm the action. Enter the password and click on ‘Continue.’ 
How to Delete an Account on Facebook

Your account gets deleted after clicking on ‘Continue.’ Facebook keeps your data for 30 days after you delete your account. After that, the data is permanently deleted How to Delete an Account on Facebook, and the action cannot be undone. 

Deactivating the Account: 

In case you wish to stay away or take a break from Facebook for some time, you may just deactivate the account instead of completely deleting it and losing the information. Here is the process for deactivation. 

  • Again, go to the ‘Settings & Privacy’ on Facebook and select ‘Settings.’ 
  • In the left column, select the ‘Your Facebook Information’ option and click on ‘Deactivation and deletion.’ 
  • Select the ‘Deactivate account’ option, proceed to ‘Continue to Account Deactivation,’ and follow the instructions on the window. 

When your account is deactivated, people wouldn’t be able to view your account. However, your photos, videos, and all the other information posted by you stay intact. You can also use Facebook Messenger and other sites where you used your Facebook credentials. Moreover, you can reactivate your account whenever you wish to by logging back in with your user credentials. 

Retrieving the Account: 

As we mentioned earlier, deactivation is a temporary thing, and deletion is a permanent action. However, you can retrieve your account after deletion as well. If you change your mind within 30 days of deleting the account, follow the process given below to use your account again. After this time, Facebook permanently deletes your data, and your account is permanently lost. 

  • Login to your Facebook account using your user credentials. These should be the credentials used by you when you deleted your account. 
  • You’d be displayed information asking about the deletion. 
  • Click on ‘Cancel Deletion.’ 

After this, you can use your account as before. You can also know about how an account from Facebook works. How to Delete an Account on Facebook Moreover, the users can also understand how the likes and other actions from Facebook accounts work and influence others’ actions.

Recommended